Bronze Boot Award

Bronze Boot Award

Sponsored by Star Media and its Rugby News (New Zealand) magazine.

The Bronze Boot was inaugurated in 1992 by John Blondin and his publishing company Rugby Press International (Australia)

It is awarded to one player from each team ‘For the most constructive player in a Schools Test series’. It is now seen as the most prestigious award for test matches between the Australian and New Zealand Schoolboys. Many recipients have gone to represent the Wallabies or All Blacks.

It is  now known as the Rugby News/Jerry Collins Memorial Bronze Boot award for the New Zealand recipient.

* Senior international

Year Team Player
2019 Australia Joshua Flook, Brothers Rugby Club (Nudgee College Old Boy)
New Zealand Cam Church, St Kentigern College, Auckland
2018 Australia Luke Reimer, Barker College, NSW
New Zealand Blair Murray, New Plymouth Boys’ High School
2017 Australia Lachlan Longeran, Trinity College, ACT
New Zealand  Devon Flander, Hastings Boys Nigh
2016 Australia Opeti Helu, Newington College, NSW
New Zealand Sione Havill, Auckland Grammar School
2015 Australia Harry Johnson-Holmes, Merewether High School, NSW
New Zealand Alex Fidow, Scots College
2014 Australia Connor Moroney, St Joseph’s College Gregory Terrace QLD
New Zealand Patelesio Tomkinson, Otago Boys’ High School
2013 Australia Jack McCalman, The Kings School, NSW
New Zealand * Akira Ione, Auckland Grammar School, Auckland
2012 Australia Jonah Placid, Toowoomba Grammar School, QLD
New Zealand James Tucker, St Bede’s College, Christchurch
2011 Australia Will Miller, The Scots College, NSW
New Zealand * Ardie Savea, Rongotai College, Wellington
2010 Australia Tim Donlan, St Ignatius College, NSW
New Zealand Matt McGahan, Mount Albert Grammar School
2009 Australia * Liam Gill, St Joseph’s Gregory Terrace, QLD
New Zealand * Sam Cane, Reporoa College, Bay of Plenty
2008 Australia * Eddie Quirk, Brisbane State High, QLD
New Zealand * Blade Thomson, Gisborne Boys’ High School
2007 Australia * Robert Horne, Georges River Senior Campus Oatley, NSW
New Zealand * Charlie Ngatai, Gisborne Boys’ High School
2006 Australia Rodney Ma’a, Westfields Sports High School, NSW
New Zealand Luke Braid, Tauranga Boys’ HS
2005 Australia * David Pocock, Anglican Church Grammar School, QLD
New Zealand Zarhn Commerer, New Plymouth Boys High
2004 Australia Richard Stanford, The Scots College, NSW
New Zealand * Victor Vito, Scots College Wellington
2003 Australia Tahjon Mailata, St Joseph’s College Nudgee, QLD
New Zealand Aaron Bancroft, Marlborough Boys’ College
2002 Australia Daniel Halangahu,   The Kings School, NSW
New Zealand * Liam Messam, Rotorua Boys High School
2001 Australia Tyrone Smith, St Edmunds College, ACT
England Benjamin Durham, Pate’s Grammar School
2000 Australia Luke Doherty, Iona College, QLD
New Zealand Benjamin Atiga, Auckland Grammar School, Auckland
1999 Australia * Daniel Heenan, Marist College Ashgrove, QLD
New Zealand Cameron McIntyre, St Bede’s College, Christchurch
1998 Australia * George Smith, Cromer High School, NSW
New Zealand * Jerry Collins, St Patricks, Wellington
1997 Australia * Phil Waugh, Sydney Church of England Grammar School, NSW
New Zealand * Carl Hayman, Kings High School Dunedin
1996 Australia Lachlan Grant, St Joseph’s College Nudgee, QLD
New Zealand Ashley Barron, Kings High School Dunedin
1995 Australia Nathan Franks, Knox Grammar  School, NSW
New Zealand Quintan Sanft, De La Salle Colege, Auckland
1994 Australia * Sean Hardman, Nudgee College, QLD
Wales Neil Watkins, Neath College
1993 Australia * Tom Bowman, The Scot’s College, NSW
New Zealand * Carlos Spencer, Waiophehu Colege
1992 Australia Nick Harvey, The Kings School, NSW
New Zealand Jeffrey Wilson, Cargill High School, Invercargill